Author Topic: New solder station?  (Read 9440 times)

Offline SitedrifterTopic starter

New solder station?
« on: May 14, 2017, 02:10:30 pm »
Hi All,

I am new to the forum but have been lurking on EEVblog for a long time. I am a hobbyist and decided to upgrade my pencil iron to a small affordable station. The forum is chock full of brands I never heard of or ones I have that seem to be Chinese copies of Weller, Hakko and others. I have been researching all the typical but economical brands (Aoyue, X-Tronic, Xytronic, and others) and found this
https://www.radioshack.com/products/radioshack-digital-soldering-station  I can purchase it brand new for around 50 bucks and was wondering if anyone has this unit and if so, how is it? It kind of looks like the newer ATTEN but this unit is made in Taiwan, not China so I am wondering if it is worth a shot? I know Hakko is a choice brand but for 50 bucks less I am not sure it is worth it for a part time hobbyist like me.

Thanks for any info.

Site

Offline stj

• Super Contributor
Re: New solder station?
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2017, 02:22:11 pm »
i would avoid that, it has a solomon type iron.

and what's with the foto of a reel of plumbing solder and a reel of enamelled copper "transformer" wire in the stand???  :-// :palm:

« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2017, 02:36:27 pm »
i would avoid that, it has a solomon type iron.

and what's with the foto of a reel of plumbing solder and a reel of enamelled copper "transformer" wire in the stand???  :-// :palm:

Yeah funny on the solder and wire. But can you give me the scoop on Solomon irons?

Thanks

Offline stj

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2017, 04:40:54 pm »
solomon type irons - now usually from zhong-di (zd part numbers) are o.k.
buy only o.k. - not great.

you should aim for an iron that uses chinese rippoff's of the Hakko T12 tips.

the cheapest is the Bakon BK950D,
circuit solutions and BK solderwerks do more expensive ones.

or build your own.