Author Topic: New to PSoC 1  (Read 2682 times)

Offline alex2005Topic starter

New to PSoC 1
« on: June 07, 2013, 08:29:12 pm »
So a friend of mine bought me the PSoC 1 Kit, but alas I have no idea about electronics :/
I'm studying computer science, but this is very different and I have no idea what to do with it.

Any tutorials or some help would be appreciated.

Offline Corporate666

• Supporter
  • Remember, you are unique, just like everybody else
Re: New to PSoC 1
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2013, 11:03:20 pm »
Which PSoC1 kit did you get?  Do you have any idea what sort of project you would like to make?  There is a lot you can do with the PSoC... do you want to just try something like blink an LED?

One thing I would say is that if you get more involved in the PSoC, start to look at the PSoC3, 4 and 5.  The PSoC1 was a bit of a pieced together bodge and while it works well, it has some quirks that do not exist in the later PSoC's.  For example, it has only one GPIO interrupt so you must check which pin caused the interrupt and whether it was rising or falling.  Also, you must get special debug versions of the chip and an "ICE Cube" for debugging - whereas with the later ones have direct debugging right in the chip. 

There are lots of example projects online and at Cypress.com too.
It's not always the most popular person who gets the job done.

Offline alex2005Topic starter

« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2013, 11:46:02 pm »
The kit says CY3210-PSoC Eval1

Don't know what I want to make, because I dont know what I can make with it.

The most basic project I guess :D
Is there a tutorial that explains what all the things on it are and what they do?

Offline Corporate666

• Supporter
  • Remember, you are unique, just like everybody else
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2013, 01:01:43 am »
The kit says CY3210-PSoC Eval1

Don't know what I want to make, because I dont know what I can make with it.

The most basic project I guess :D