Author Topic: Newbie about to drop the gun for an Agilent DSOX2004A  (Read 2352 times)

Offline Josh0027Topic starter

Newbie about to drop the gun for an Agilent DSOX2004A
« on: August 15, 2014, 05:17:11 am »
Greetings! I have been lurking around this forum for more than a month now. I have been researching for a nice oscilloscope as a long time investment and my decision is towards the DSOX2004A.

I am a software/firmware engineer and I have started to take interest in micro controller applications, particularly interfacing with sensors. Aside from debugging tools, I feel that I would be needing an oscilloscope to poke around signals.

My initial requirement was to have a 70MHz minimum low cost two channel oscilloscope but as my research went by, I started to see the need for a unit that can grow as my skills grow. So I made a decision to get a 70-100MHz scope with four channels and is upgradable (thanks to this forum  :) ).

My selection started with the Rigol DS1052E, Siglent SDS1072CML, Rigol DS1074Z and the Rigol DS2072A. The DS1074Z is a good buy but the sample speed of 250MS/s when all channels are used is not spectacular. The next was the DS2072A which has excellent features but only has two channels. It was still those two that I was selecting until I got a good deal for the DSOX2004A. It is still more expensive than the DS2072A and I am aware of it's limitations being three years old already. My reasons aside from it being an Agilent:

1) I got a nice deal from my supplier, similar to the educational discount years ago.
2) It has five years warranty, compared to the Rigol which has three years.
3) The unit has upgrade options. I am aware that the Rigol has similar upgrades, has better specifications, and has the existence of the firmware hack but I feel uncomfortable in doing the hack that may lead me to void the warranty.
4) It will be my first scope. I feel that Agilent is a respectable brand and investing in it makes some sense.