Author Topic: Newbie digital oscilloscope: Rigol DS2072A or Rigol DS2072A-S  (Read 3465 times)

Offline NozzerTopic starter

• Contributor
I recently retired and am interested in resuming a hobby I last did over 20 years ago with a general experimental interest. I am not intending to develop audio at this stage. I still have my old 20MHz CRT analogue scope (which is so old it still has a Z plate input) but it is obviously rather out of date. I have been following the review #451 and as the Rigol 2072A costs about the same as my analogue scope when it was new ::) and I need a new function generator, I was wondering if it would be better to buy the Rigol DS2072A-S with its built in generator.

As I'm completely new to digital scopes (not to mention any digital measurement/test device) I'm a little confused by the specified bandwidth of 70MHz but a bandwidth limit of 20MHz*. Could someone explain this in plain English please?

See spec via:
https://www.rigol-uk.co.uk/Rigol-DS2072A-S-Digital-Oscilloscope-p/ds2072a-s.htm#.VwA5UHp4WK0

Offline MK14

• Super Contributor
Re: Newbie digital oscilloscope: Rigol DS2072A or Rigol DS2072A-S
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2016, 09:47:18 pm »
I'm a little confused by the specified bandwidth of 70MHz but a bandwidth limit of 20MHz*. Could someone explain this in plain English please?

It is fully a 70MHz scope, BUT you can switch the maximum bandwidth DOWN to 20MHz. (Bandwidth Limit feature).

It is a feature, which allows you to limit the bandwidth to 20MHz. In theory used if you are more interested in lower frequencies.

http://telonicinstruments.co.uk/rigol-uk/MSO-DS/MSO-DS2000A%20User%20Guide.pdf

Bandwidth Limit
Setting the bandwidth limit can reduce the display noise. For example, the signal
under test is a pulse with high frequency oscillation.
? When bandwidth limit is disabled, the high frequency components of the signal
under test can pass the channel.