Author Topic: Newbie help! Why is my input/output device squealing?!  (Read 6189 times)

Offline nipplecrippleTopic starter

Newbie help! Why is my input/output device squealing?!
« on: January 16, 2014, 12:14:37 am »
Hi everyone, I'm an electronics student, pretty new to it, but getting to the point my audio input/output device isn't happy....

After what I think was possibly a power cut earlier in the year, my M-audio profire 2626 decided to get ill and i'm attempting to seek out the problem.

My question is why is it squealing!? When its working normally, it does not do this. I'm having trouble locating the noise but its coming from around the power switch or the surface mounted coiltronics transformer. It just so happens the two are close to each other. The power switch itself gets rather hot when its been powered on for a little while which I don't think is good....

I have a suspicion a capacitor has failed.

I've taken a short video. My apologies for the quiet audio.

Any help regarding this high pitched squeal would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Offline AlfBaz

• Super Contributor
Re: Newbie help! Why is my input/output device squealing?!
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2014, 12:17:25 am »
I've taken a short video. My apologies for the quiet audio.
No need to apologise unless you decide to share it :)

« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2014, 08:44:52 am »
I knew I forgot to do something!

D'oh!

Offline NadAngel

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2014, 10:14:19 am »
Inductors and transformers can generate audible noise due to electromagnetic forces generated by frequencies in the audible range - magnetostriction. This can also happen in ceramic capacitors where this phenomenon is called piezoelectric effect. My inductors usually buzz when I saturate their cores, and the ceramic capacitors when the ripple current is too high. I would first check the electrolytic capacitors and work from there.

Offline AlfBaz

• Super Contributor