Author Topic: Newbie here, and wanting to get neck deep into Homebrewing, but not a CPU...  (Read 6144 times)

Offline AGRGaleTopic starter

Hello people,

I've had an interest in the hardware side of Bitcoin, manly the ASICs they use, what I wanted to do is attempt to get some discrete logic and slap together my own bitcoin core calculation.

The problem is, I really don't understand the logic of bitcoin calculation, so I can't just attempt to layout a boolean logic map.

Since you can calculate it by hand (pencil and paper linky link)
and there is a Spreadsheet calculation for SHA256 ( Sha256 on Spreadsheet in google docs.) which I can just follow.

Now I have posted this in the Beginner section since, well, I'm new at these forums and this concept, I'm not new at soldering, or even playing with SMDs and a hot air iron.  and I'm happy to spend the time soldering 100s of 1000s discrete components on some proto board, but can I get a hand though this please?

Offline tec5c

• Frequent Contributor
I'm happy to spend the time soldering 100s of 1000s discrete components on some proto board, but can I get a hand though this please?

Good, because this is exactly what you'll be doing!

Just to clarify, are you asking for help with the logic layout? The wording of the quote I inserted kind of makes it seem like you're after help to solder everything together. :P

Offline matseng

• Frequent Contributor
    • My Github
If the data at https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1029536.0 is correct he will be doing a metric shitton  :scared: of soldering I think....

SHA256D, which is what Bitcoin uses, is 128 rounds, comprising

768 32-bit additions,
640 32-bit ORs
896 32-bit  XORs

So if using 8-bit wide ICs there would be (768+640+896)*4=9216 ICs in total. And my guess is that my cellphone can calculate the hashes faster than this discrete implementation