Author Topic: Noob With Agilent MSO-X 2024A  (Read 2058 times)

Offline ItIsMeTopic starter

Noob With Agilent MSO-X 2024A
« on: February 13, 2015, 02:12:21 am »
Hi all! I'm a college student studying EE.

I don't have much experience, and was playing around with our Agilent MSO-X 2024A scopes in the lab.  I set a function generator to produce a 3kHz sinusoid with 5Vpp amplitude and 0V DC offset. But when I looked at the measurements on the scope, I was reading an amplitude of 7v.... These function generators are very precise, so I think the issue is with the scope. I think it is measuring amplitude as the difference between a peak and trough of the wave. How can I set the amplitude to be the distance from 0 to the peak? I heard this is a common "issue" with the scopes.

I've tried google-ing things such as "Agilent 2024a calibrate amplitude" and other variations, but have so far not found a solution.

Thanks!

Offline w2aew

• Super Contributor
  • I usTa cuDnt speL enjinere, noW I aR wuN
    • My YouTube Channel
Re: Noob With Agilent MSO-X 2024A
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2015, 02:52:58 am »
Hi all! I'm a college student studying EE.

I don't have much experience, and was playing around with our Agilent MSO-X 2024A scopes in the lab.  I set a function generator to produce a 3kHz sinusoid with 5Vpp amplitude and 0V DC offset. But when I looked at the measurements on the scope, I was reading an amplitude of 7v.... These function generators are very precise, so I think the issue is with the scope. I think it is measuring amplitude as the difference between a peak and trough of the wave. How can I set the amplitude to be the distance from 0 to the peak? I heard this is a common "issue" with the scopes.

I've tried google-ing things such as "Agilent 2024a calibrate amplitude" and other variations, but have so far not found a solution.

Thanks!