Author Topic: Ohms law question.  (Read 11497 times)

Offline CreoNicTopic starter

Ohms law question.
« on: October 07, 2013, 08:26:03 pm »
I'm not a beginner but all of a sudden I just realized that I don’t know the history behind the difference between the European/Swedish Voltage naming and American/English voltage naming.

Ohm law in American/English:
V=R*I

In Swedish/European:
U=R*I

None of us express Ohms law with the unit we measure in.
V= ?*A
We don’t want to mix in the measurement units in calculations.

So, the Swedish/European way to use U instead of V seams consistent.
But V=R*I seams to be the most frequent used in the world.

Is there anyone here that know some history behind this difference?

Offline c4757p

• Super Contributor
  • adieu
Re: Ohms law question.
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2013, 08:27:15 pm »
Hmm.... we use U at my school sometimes, but it's not consistent. I am curious too
No longer active here - try the IRC channel if you just can't be without me :)

Offline AndyC_772

• Super Contributor
  • Professional design engineer
    • Cawte Engineering | Reliable Electronics
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2013, 08:31:01 pm »
I've never, ever seen the symbol U used for potential difference.

V=IR. The end.

Offline Metalcrowe

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2013, 08:32:57 pm »
We only use U for voltage in Switzerland.

Online IanB

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: October 07, 2013, 08:35:53 pm »
There is often a choice for what letter or symbol to use to represent different quantities in physics.

We can say fairly readily that "V" is for voltage, and "R" is for resistance. It would be difficult to use "C" for current since "C" is already used for capacitance. I believe the use of "I" comes from intensity (of current flow).