Author Topic: OPamp comparator on ac mains  (Read 1712 times)

Offline anishkgtTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
    • George Hobby
OPamp comparator on ac mains
« on: December 12, 2017, 10:37:20 am »
Hi All,

I am trying to use a comparator to monitor the difference in voltage when the secondary of a transformer are shorted when spot welding. This will be like an added feature to trigger the Thyristors when then electrodes touch the nickel strips to be welded.

I am just beginning to learn to use opamps (as comparators) and need some advise on how to get this working. The principle is simple, When the thyristors are not fire and when the transformer does not have any power to it, there is a small leakage voltage of 1.5vac at the primary of the trasnformer and when the secondary are shorted the voltage drops down to 0.5VAC with this voltage drop am hoping to use an opamp as a comparator to monitor the voltage drop and send its out to an arduino to trigger the Thyristors.

My concerns, would it be ok to have the opamp exposed while the actual weld happens. The current at the primary is 20A in short pulse.

• Frequent Contributor
    • George Hobby
Re: OPamp comparator on ac mains
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2017, 11:10:05 am »
A second option with an opto isolator

Offline PartialDischarge

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2017, 02:34:11 pm »
You need to rectify and filter the voltage you are trying to compare, so you compare the "mean" not the instantaneous voltage.
The speed (step response) of the filter must be matched to the frequency of the line.

Also always use a limiting voltage device at the input pins after the high impedance resistors (like a low current zener). Although you seem to expect that always less that 1.5V will be present I doubt that. There could be switching spikes at turn-off or turn-off of the thyristors where you'll get the full line voltage at the primary.