Author Topic: Optimizing my scrap-built DC boost converter!  (Read 7732 times)

Offline vortexnlTopic starter

• Contributor
Optimizing my scrap-built DC boost converter!
« on: January 01, 2013, 06:12:54 pm »
Hello EEVblog! This will be my first post here  :)

I'm definitely not an electrical engineer, but just a software engineer that really likes electronics. So I've been doing this as a hobby for about 1-2 years now...

So I'm working on a DC boost converter built from scrap from old electronic boards etc. My goal is to boost a 5V USB source to a 12V source so it can drive a 12V fan at around 250mA... (unregulated)

The design I used is just the most basic design you see everywhere on the internet:

I'm driving my inductor using a 32Khz PWM signal from an Arduino, and it's working pretty good so far! There are still a few questions though regarding optimization and efficiency.

Question #1:
I'm using an IRF530N mosfet to drive the inductor, but it gets really got even after 30 seconds, this is probably due to the 60% duty cycle I'm using (this yielded the highest output voltage when connected to the fan) How can I reduce this heat? Is excessive heat normal?

Question #2:
The inductor has around 20 turns of thick wire around a toroid, could I increase the output voltage if I increase the amount of turns?

Please excuse me for my lack of experience. I just got into the field of inductance and it really interests me!  :-[

I hope the wise gods of EEVBlog can help me with my questions. Many thanks in advance,

Nick
« Last Edit: January 01, 2013, 06:29:46 pm by vortexnl »

Offline Kremmen

• Super Contributor
Re: Optimizing my scrap-built DC boost converter!
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2013, 06:34:15 pm »
The boost converter transfer function is Vout = Vin * (1/(1-D)), where D is the duty cycle between 0 and 1. In practice the max voltage ratio is limited to say 4-5 times the input voltage.