Author Topic: Ordering components in Europe, digikey and import tax  (Read 24876 times)

Offline MihemineTopic starter

Ordering components in Europe, digikey and import tax
« on: August 06, 2016, 01:10:47 pm »
Hello,
I'm a student in Belgium, and would like to order some parts for a project, but I need enough to make 100 of my pcb, so ebay won't cut it,
I prepared everything with digikey but they ship out of the US, and import tax is not clear ( It seems like I would have to pay 21% extra ), farnell requires a vat number ( that I don't have ) and mouser is way more expensive for the stuff I want.

Where do you Europeans buy your stuff and how do you deal with the vat ? My school buys off farnell and other sites but they have a vat number :/
This process has been a pain, because every site seems to have some problem or another, and out of sheer irritation I ordered enough components off of ebay to at least test my pcb, but it cost me 10x more then it should have, and they estimate shipping to be 3 weeks :s

PS: I would like to order about 1600€ of stuff so 21% vat is a pretty large amount to just pile on top, especially since I'm the one putting this out of my pocket

Thank you !
« Last Edit: August 06, 2016, 01:13:04 pm by Mihemine »

Offline LazyJack

• Frequent Contributor
  • Yeah, cool.
Re: Ordering components in Europe, digikey and import tax
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2016, 01:29:38 pm »
Well. The purpose of the VAT is that someone pays it. If you have a VAT number, then you are probably a company, who will pay the VAT when selling the product to an end user. If you don't have a VAT number, then you are likely and end user and you pay the tax to the seller (who in turn pays it to the state). (VAT is a bit more complex, escpecially when dealing cross country trade, but you get the general idea.)
If it were easy to evade paying tax, everyone would do it, don't you think?
So, no, there is no easy legal way to evade paying VAT.

Offline LazyJack