Author Topic: oscilloscope auto trigger explained  (Read 5477 times)

Offline stern0m1Topic starter

• Contributor
oscilloscope auto trigger explained
« on: October 07, 2018, 01:13:39 am »
Hi,
Im using the RIGOL DS1054Z.
I want the oscilloscope just to continuously display the voltage levels it reads.
Is auto trigger going to give me this?
Below is how the manual explains it. I dont understand it. Is there no mode where it would just continuously read the voltage levels?
Im a beginner, obviously.  :)

The manual states:

Auto:
No matter whether the trigger condition is met, there is always waveform display. A
horizontal line is displayed when no signal is input.
In this mode, the oscilloscope operates by first filling the pre-trigger buffer. It starts
searching for a trigger after the pre-trigger buffer is filled and continues to flow data
Pre-trigger Buffer Post-trigger Buffer through this buffer while it searches for the trigger. While searching for the trigger,
the oscilloscope overflows the pre-trigger buffer and the first data put into the buffer
is first pushed out (First Input First Out, FIFO). When a trigger is found, the
pre-trigger buffer would contain the data acquired just before the trigger. If no
trigger is found, the oscilloscope will trigger forcefully. If forceful trigger is invalid, the
oscilloscope still displays waveform but the waveform is not stable; if forceful trigger
is valid, the oscilloscope displays stable waveform.

Offline Brumby

• Supporter
Re: oscilloscope auto trigger explained
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2018, 02:20:53 am »
The manual states:

Auto:
No matter whether the trigger condition is met, there is always waveform display. A
horizontal line is displayed when no signal is input.

This is the bit you need to understand - and it's pretty straightforward.  For a DC input, there will be a line displayed - and it will be shifted from zero exactly as you would expect.