Author Topic: Oscilloscope bandwidth - is jump from 100MHz to 200 MHz significant?  (Read 20301 times)

Offline bmdalyTopic starter

• Contributor
Hi,

I'm a hobbyist proposing to upgrade from my 10MHz Picoscope 2204 to a Siglent SDS1104X-E, primarily for the 4 channels.
My main area of interest at the moment is analogue electronics, and I'm working my way through a series of lab tutorials in "Learning the Art of Electronics". I expect that being able to monitor multiple points on the circuits I'm building and view the signals' relative phases and amplitudes on a single screen will be a big help to learning.
I've also done a couple of microcontroller courses in the past (using TI MSP432 and TM4C123 boards), and also use Arduino boards.

I've read Performa01's in-depth review https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/siglent-sds1104x-e-in-depth-review/ of the SDS1104X-E and the SDS1202X-E, including his chapter comparing the bandwidth of these devices, and have decided that the 100MHz model is sufficient for what I need - particularly given the 50% cost premium for double the bandwidth (but no corresponding increase in sampling rate), and limited (lack of???) anti-aliasing on the 200MHz model.

Before finalizing the decision, I wonder if there are any use cases where the extra bandwidth would really make a significant difference to understanding what's going on in a circuit?
I don't want to be in a position a few months down the road thinking "if only I had a little extra bandwidth...", but equally, I need to be pragmatic and draw the line somewhere.

Any comments from people who have been down this road would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance,
Brian
« Last Edit: March 02, 2018, 12:11:20 pm by bmdaly »

Offline capt bullshot

• Super Contributor
    • Mostly useless stuff, but nice to have: wunderkis.de
Re: Oscilloscope bandwidth - is jump from 100MHz to 200 MHz significant?
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2018, 12:03:17 pm »