Author Topic: Oscilloscope buy --- Dilemma  (Read 4812 times)

Offline Gp!Topic starter

• Contributor
Oscilloscope buy --- Dilemma
« on: May 23, 2017, 05:26:52 pm »
HI,
total newbie here. Just getting back into electronics (thanks to Dave's videos) and immediately stuck on a little dilemma.
So many scopes are available and at such good prices that's it's almost embarrassing to choose.
My dilemma however is slightly different, would it make more sense to buy a unit that perhaps is a little bit more expensive and offers more features so as to buy it just once so as to cover all the future necessities....or get the cheap realiable model and then upgrade to something more powerful in the future ?
Obviously I am not talking about 16000 euro version but in the range from your basic 350 euro model to your 2000 euro model (if that). Some of the new models that have just come out seem amazing but I am thinking that they might be overkill, but again could come in handy in the future...
Is it worth planing that far ahead ?
Thanks for any pearls of wisdom !
Gp

Offline rstofer

• Super Contributor
Re: Oscilloscope buy --- Dilemma
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2017, 05:52:16 pm »
It's always possible to start at a higher level and there's nothing wrong with that.  Bandwidth is everything!  But Dave has videos where he explains that other features are right near the top.  Channels, decoding, measurements, decent UI, all these are part of the equation.

OTOH, you can go a long way with electronics with a lower level scope which means you have money left over for other things:  Signal generator, soldering station, power supply, etc.  Few people can afford top-of-the-line models for everything.

Probably the fastest selling scope around is the Rigol DS1054Z which, when unlocked, provides a decent bandwidth of 100 MHz, decoding of various serial protocols and more measurements than I know what to do with.  It's a great scope to start with.