Author Topic: Outputting to HDMI with a low power MCU?  (Read 19931 times)

Offline lasmoriTopic starter

• Contributor
Outputting to HDMI with a low power MCU?
« on: November 28, 2015, 07:55:48 pm »
Hi there!

I have an 8-bit microcontroller (Zilog ez80) that I am wanting to output video with. "Back in the day" one would grab a video processor (something by Cirrus Logic or etc. I admit, I have no actual experience with *using* these)... but I am at a loss to what one does these days. I am hoping to offload as much of the processing to a video processor of some sort. The ez80 can address up to 16MB, so a frame buffer would be doable.  I would really love if there was a video processor capable of handling 1080p with acceleration for things such as sprites and such, but I assume this may be too much to ask these days.

What would be the modern alternative? I've been looking at various HDMI transmitters, though I am not entirely sure if I could just point them at a frame buffer. I am *hoping* for a low cost solution, though it seems like these HDMI transmitters run $10+ USD.

I've also considered using a FPGA to handle video processing (and then perhaps hooking that up to a HDMI transmitter?). I have to admit though... FPGA is a territory I have never dealt with before. I have seen this: http://hamsterworks.co.nz/mediawiki/index.php/Spartan_6_1080p ... but it seems to do the whole HDMI stack?

The ADV7513 mentions having an MPU if I remember correctly... but I have a feeling this does not provide what I am wanting. They do have an application note for using an FPGA as a video generator.

Some advice would be awesome :D.