Author Topic: Parts bin recommendation  (Read 3771 times)

Offline thomasfuchsTopic starter

Parts bin recommendation
« on: January 14, 2018, 01:33:11 pm »
Hi there! (First post, gulp!)

I’m just starting out and wonder if there’s a recommendation for a good parts bin. Maybe a system that can be easily extended later? Also, is there special bins that are anti-static? I’d love to have something nice (e.g. drawers that fit wel and don’t fall out)  instead of cheap crap. I’m in the US.

Thanks!

Offline danadak

• Super Contributor
  • Reactor Operator SSN-583, Retired EE
Re: Parts bin recommendation
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2018, 03:22:17 pm »
One method is to line plastic part draws with tin foil. You can also
get anti-static cheap foam blocks off ebay for holding thru hole
type parts.

There are even sprays that can mitigate / reduce static.

https://www.digikey.com/catalog/en/partgroup/staticide-topical-antistatic-spray/27735

Regards, Dana.
Love Cypress PSOC, ATTiny, Bit Slice, OpAmps, Oscilloscopes, and Analog Gurus like Pease, Miller, Widlar, Dobkin, obsessed with being an engineer

Offline Old Printer

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2018, 04:34:08 pm »
When I started getting serious about organizing my bench last year I was disappointed that HomeDepot had reduced their offerings to junk. I did find the Stack-On line in stock at my local Lowes. They had the parts bins in three different size/configurations. After that I wound up in Dicks sporting goods in the fishing tackle dept and they had a great assortment of thin plastic cases that have worked well for all sorts of components. I like them because I can take an entire assortment of resistors, capacitors and breadboard wires and move them to where I want to work.

Offline paulca

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2018, 05:21:34 pm »
I went for compartment tray boxes.  For the reason they are easily mobile and I hate drawer based cabinets with a passion.