Author Topic: PCB design: Copper Connection was bought out, looking for replacement :(  (Read 8012 times)

Offline lehamTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
So I found this really easy to use PCB and schematic design software a few months back, called Robot Room Copper Connection.

As a beginner I found it really easy to learn how PCB design worked, there where two main 'versions';
Free, which was the full program, you just couldn't export gerbers (transfer printing was available for DIY pcbs)
Paid (about $70AUD), this enabled you to export gerber and go through a pcb manufacturer

You can do up to 4 layer boards, I think as big as you want, with silk screen.. There is a large library included for various types of components and a tool to design your own..

This software worked really well for me and I had saved up over the last few months to purchase the one off licence (keys aren't authenticated with a external server), I'm thinking "you ripper!"

Go to Robot rooms site, click on the purchase link and BOOM! I am teleport-ed through my crappy ADSL connection to.... Express PCB!!

___Now a little backstory, I had tried express pcbs software in the past and didn't like it, that's why I went with copper connection___ 

Hmmm, I thought, looks like express pcb bought them out.... But look! the software is still available!  I'll download it and see if the full export options are now free, this would mean a royal trip to KFC to spend the money I had saved!

Downloading................ remember ADSL......... downloading.............DONE!  -microwave ping!-

Ok I'm just going to make a simple pcb and expor...... OH WAIT I CAN'T!!!

Ahh yes, ALL export options have been replaced with "pay ExpressPCB monies" :/

So now I'm looking for a similar program that is just as easy to use, I only want to make simple 2 layer PCBs  :'(  Doesn't have to be fancy new software, even if I have to run it in a VM that is ok!