Author Topic: PCB Etching  (Read 10718 times)

Offline duttyrok69Topic starter

PCB Etching
« on: July 05, 2012, 11:35:33 pm »
Hey everyone,

I'm a noob here and was looking for info on etching techniques for pcb's. i have layouts to many pcb's and was looking to further my engineering skills by doing my first boards. has Dave done a vid on it yet ( I'm still going through all the blogs, there so great. ) Well any info would be appreciated thanks.

Offline mianchen

• Regular Contributor
Re: PCB Etching
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2012, 11:44:28 pm »
I guess Dave hates etching PCB at home, you won't see a video on this. Search youtube there are plenty of videos..

Online IanB

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2012, 12:37:12 am »
Home etching is less popular than it was. Double sided, plated through holes and SMT technology are the reasons. However, a good overview can be found here:

http://www.electricstuff.co.uk/pcbs.html

Offline Chasm

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2012, 01:25:27 am »
Making PCBs is not really hard.
The thing to remember is to keep it simple, if I need complex stuff I'd rather order them from China.

Some random thoughts
- Keep single sided, double sided is a lot more work
- Use large structures! You can do finer stuff once you know what you doing.
- Try to use SMD, way less drilling. Just saying.

Mikes article is good, here is some stuff I do differently.

I use the toner transfer method.
While I did learn to tape out and have all the gear I do have lots of blank copper PCBs but no more photoresist type.
Toner transfer obviously not suited to make multiple PCBs of the same layout, in that case just order them.