Author Topic: PCB Kit soldering issues and using series resistors for testing  (Read 1666 times)

Offline kalelTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
PCB Kit soldering issues and using series resistors for testing
« on: September 10, 2017, 09:14:46 am »
Being a beginner, I haven't perfected soldering with cheap Chinese kits yet (I'm sure some get it right the first time and that I too should have by now, but it's never late to learn).
I haven't worked much with SMD yet at all, for good reason (if you check below to see the through hole issues).
The only exception are relatively large (the largest I could find cheap) SMD LEDs, which can be soldered to stripboards/veroboards relatively easily.
I might dare soldering one or two of those on a PCB with proper pads, but nothing else. Maybe in the distant future, when I also have found a good/cheap magnifying solution.

A few issues I've noticed so far:

1) IC rotation:
Sometimes it happens that I turn the IC the other way around, and/or possibly other issues (of course if the IC is the wrong way around, it's hard to tell about other components).
I believe it's mostly the IC, as the capacitors (plus polarity), resistors, etc. are all well marked, and I test every single component before placing it. But I don't always find the IC rotation obvious.
Once I resorted to seeing an image on the internet where the kit seems completed, and following that same rotation, which... might have been wrong.

I'm not sure how to address this point, but finding schematics on the internet (IC datasheet + kit schematics) and then using continuity check to find which contact on the PCB goes where might help prevent me repeating the mistake.

2) Dry solder or VIA contacts getting scraped off:
Sometimes I'm not happy with how the solder joints look, and try to add more or remove the dry looking solder.
Sometimes the contacts around the VIAs (if that's the right word) even come off during the process, but it seems to only happen on some boards.