Author Topic: PDF to Gerber  (Read 14664 times)

Offline hanndoddiTopic starter

• Contributor
    • twitter
PDF to Gerber
« on: March 03, 2013, 08:33:00 pm »
I put this post also in genaral chat but got low responce hope it's oki to try here to.

------------

Hello every one Þórarinn here from Iceland.

In short i am looking for a way to convert PDF to Gerber file.

I want to be able to take photos of PCB boards for exsaple (link below) and turn it into Gerber file for milling out PCB boards.

http://www.electronics-lab.com/projects/audio/001/index.html

I have no experiences with this so i was hoping i could get some advice with software and methods to use.
Kv. Þórarinn

Offline amspire

• Super Contributor
Re: PDF to Gerber
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2013, 11:38:06 pm »
The image in the PDF is probably raster, and a gerber file is vector and for a simple board I would not even try and do the conversion.

Either etch your own PCB  using a transparency printout and photosensitive resist, or a laser printout and the toner transfer method (see frantone's recent thread https://www.eevblog.com/forum/chat/make-your-own-printed-circuit-boards-part-1-artwork-and-resist/?topicseen ) or better still, get one of the free PCB packages like diptrace, eagle or kicad and duplicate the design. - You can make it much better then and the gerber files will be generated by a program that understands the requirements of a PCB.

It will take a short time to learn to get started with the PCB package, but once you can use it, duplicating a layout is straightforward. The best way is to start with a schematic, but most PCB packages should allow you to go straight to the PCB layout package if you have any automatic design rule checking disabled.