Author Topic: Phase Locked Loop Explanation/Example  (Read 4280 times)

Offline tpowell1830Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • Peacefully retired from industry, active in life
Phase Locked Loop Explanation/Example
« on: February 21, 2017, 12:09:58 am »
Phase Locked Loop
I am a beginner in electronics hobby essentially because it has been 35 years since class and I was looking at the PLL circuit and trying to understand how it works. Can someone here in the forum please explain a PLL and give an example circuit? I went back to the text and I am clueless. I remember studying this, but also remember that I didn't really understand it back then, in the '80s.  :-// I would like a laymans explanation, without too much theory, if possible, given that I understand the basics of electronics; i.e. ohms law.  Also, where would this type of circuit be used in today's devices?

Thanks in advance.
PEACE===>T

Offline DimitriP

• Super Contributor
  • "Best practices" are best not practiced.© Dimitri
Re: Phase Locked Loop Explanation/Example
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2017, 12:29:14 am »
THe really short version:  compares the phase of two inputs and produces a error voltage based on the difference.
This voltage is used to "reign in" one of the two inputs so they match.

The long version is about 278   600 pages :)

Take a look at this:

and then this:
« Last Edit: February 21, 2017, 12:34:21 am by DimitriP »
   If three 100  Ohm resistors are connected in parallel, and in series with a 200 Ohm resistor, how many resistors do you have? 

The following users thanked this post: tpowell1830

Offline Brumby

• Supporter
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2017, 12:52:05 am »
THe really short version:  compares the phase of two inputs and produces a error voltage based on the difference.
This voltage is used to "reign in" one of the two inputs so they match.

The long version is about 278   600 pages :)

That's about right.

Offline DimitriP

• Super Contributor