Author Topic: Phillips pm3212 scope grounding/earthing/tips?  (Read 6958 times)

Offline apbosh1Topic starter

• Contributor
Phillips pm3212 scope grounding/earthing/tips?
« on: September 02, 2013, 11:15:31 pm »
Hi,
Why does the signal seem erratic sometimes until i touch the body of the scope?? i feel stupid asking this question. the mains lead is 2 pin so no contact with mains earth i've watched daves vids on mains earth reference and floating devices and it makes perfect sense to me on his white board, but is this anything to do with the interference i get. it displays really nice when i touch it and gets messy when not, it seems odd im on a chair with feet off the ground.
i have it plugged direct into the wall outlet and there is a lot i know of that interferes with it in my flat but i think this is a different issue.

i have just got this scope second hand (exciting stuff for me!) im a beginner with oscilloscopes really although i have done alot of reading/ytvid on them this is my first hands on, i like it. I'm using it and getting expected results and making good progress but i think im probably missing some basic not to do things.

Thanks for any help and dont hold back i have a good understanding just not much real life experience....yet.

alm

Re: Phillips pm3212 scope grounding/earthing/tips?
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2013, 11:28:08 pm »
Are you sure this is the original plug / power cord? My guess is that someone cut off the plug / cord and put on a new one, because I find it hard to believe this scope was shipped with a two prong cord. The channels are not isolated from the metal case, and I don't think the unit is old enough to pre-date grounded sockets in labs. Check if their is a ground connection either in the power cord or inside the scope where the power cord enters the case.

Offline firehopper

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2013, 10:44:18 am »