Author Topic: PIC16F877A - DS1302 RTC - LCD DISPLAY  (Read 5479 times)

Offline neko efecktzTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
PIC16F877A - DS1302 RTC - LCD DISPLAY
« on: April 25, 2017, 12:39:23 am »
Good Morning everyone.
I am on the scrounge for some help on a current project I am working on.
It has been an on going pic project for about a year.
Don't get me wrong, I am not working on it all of the time and sometimes take a looong break of a couple of months.
Basically to clear my head and to do other things.
I'm also playing about with a Raspberry Pi 3.
64 years old, still working 10 hours a day on night shift.
Only started "C" programming about a year ago.
Only a couple of projects done but I'm still learning.
Most people on this forum have been a great help, and I have made a few minor contributions myself.

The project is basically a power supply with Micro controller monitoring many of it's performance parameters.
I would like to add a clock to it if there is enough space left in the chip.

I am using MPLAB Ver 2.10
My chip is PIC16F877A
Using a 1602 generic LCD display.  May change to a 1604 or 2004 display before committing to making the front panel for the case.

I bought some DS1302 RTC modules on line ($1.00 each)(don't want to wast them) and I now find that there are big differences between DS1302 and DS1307 RTC modules

I didn't realize that the DS1032 is not I2C compatable.  Didn't look up the specs.

Most of the sample code I have found is either for DS1307 or written for some other compiler or pic18xxxx chip or worse still in ASSY.  (shudder)
Even the sample code is not always complete.
One I found requires a couple custom header files, and some others just have snippets of the code and no information on how to connect up switches etc.
(look at what I've made but I'm not giving away how to do it.)