Author Topic: pic16f88 sleep mode  (Read 6136 times)

Offline gatoulisssTopic starter

• Contributor
pic16f88 sleep mode
« on: October 26, 2015, 12:33:56 am »
hello everyone,
im using an pic16f88 microcontroller to build an security alert system witch is powered with 9v battery the problem is that after 3-4 days that my system is working the battery is going off...
after a little search ifind out about the sleep mode but because im new to this i dont know how to use it.
any help? how i can wake and sleep my processor? can i wake it up when a button is pressed or something like this happens?

thank you very much!

Offline Maxlor

• Frequent Contributor
Re: pic16f88 sleep mode
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2015, 03:05:50 am »
To save power with this MCU, you can do two things: run off the internal oscillator and slow it right down to 31.25kHz. The second is sleeping. You can then use the watchdog to wake up the MCU. If it triggers while the MCU is sleeping, it'll just effect a wake up, not a reset.

And yes, wakeup on button press is possible also, if that button is connected to pin RB0. You can configure that pin to trigger the INT0 interrupt.

Btw, the PIC16F88 is a rather old chip. Newer ones use less power...

Online mariush

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2015, 03:38:38 am »
I would also add... since the microcontroller is running on 5v, I can only assume you're using a 7805 linear regulator to obtain 5v from the 9v battery.  Regulators like 7805 will need about 1.5-2v above the output voltage so as soon as your battery drops below about 6.5v, so will the output voltage.
If the datasheet for pic16f88 is correct ( http://www.marutsu.co.jp/contents/shop/marutsu/datasheet/PIC16F88.pdf ) then as soon as the input voltage is less than 4v it will stop working, so when battery is at 5.5v-6v you're done.