Author Topic: pioneer vsx-922 av reciever transformer fuse keeps blowing  (Read 6626 times)

Offline adrian12Topic starter

pioneer vsx-922 av reciever transformer fuse keeps blowing
« on: April 07, 2017, 08:54:33 pm »
Hi everyone
My AV receiver just died, I've opened the case and cannot see any visible damage to the boards or components , but found the transformer fuse blown , I replaced the fuse twice with the unit standing alone with no connections, but soon as I switch the wall socket on the fuse blows, I'm a complete novice at this but it don't sound good. I don't know if the power supply board or the transformer is at fault or something else is the cause . I have ordered a new av unit , but it seems a shame not to try and fix this one , sending it for repair I recon will be too expensive to justify . Is there anything I could try to find the problem?. 

Thanks for your help  Adrian.

Offline macboy

• Super Contributor
Re: pioneer vsx-922 av reciever transformer fuse keeps blowing
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2017, 09:49:51 pm »
One of the most common failures is one or both output transistors on an amp channel (s) failing short circuit. If both do this, then the power rails for the amp section will be shorted together and you will instantly pop fuses as you've seen. This is what is suspect first. You can measure the transistors in-circuit with your multimeter on ~1 kOhm scale. Measure between collector and emitter, usually the two outside leads. They should measure over-range resistance in both directions.

Before poking around in there, carefully discharge the two large capacitors using a 1 kohm resistor until no more than a couple volts. The DC voltage on those is enough to potentially kill, and the energy stored is enough to vaporize a probe tip if it slips and shorts out to ground (eg to heatsink), sending molten metal flying at your face.

The following users thanked this post: adrian12

Offline Trooper_Dan

« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2017, 10:04:56 pm »