Author Topic: Pololu S7V8F5 Shutdown pin  (Read 6060 times)

Offline codysmith105Topic starter

• Contributor
Pololu S7V8F5 Shutdown pin
« on: October 20, 2013, 09:12:25 pm »
Hello EEVBlog,

First post here. I'm Cody, I love the videos and what is being done here, I just didn't want to clutter up your forum until I had a real question to ask. My background is in programming and 3D animation, but I've always wanted to learn electronics so when I found the channel I fell in love with it pretty much instantly.

OK my issue, I have two microcontrollers, the VEX Cortex and a Raspberry Pi which I am hoping to use together, so I developed this enclosure to mate the two:

So for the electronics bit, there is a little switch on the Cortex that turns it on (it's powered by a 7.2v battery), and I essentially want the Raspberry Pi to turn on when that switch is pulled as well. Now I cannot modify the Cortex, this is for competitive robotics and we aren't allowed to mess with the Cortex. But there are a host of 5v pins that go hot when this thing turns on, a bunch are part of PWM connectors but there are UART ports that have both ground and +5v pins as well, so for simplicity reasons I want to use them.

Now the Pi will be powered by another battery (a 9.6v battery), the reason for this is current related. The Cortex has a 1A breaker in it, and we need all of that 1A to power motors so the Pi with a 200-400 mA draw needs to be powered separately. Our competition lets us use either another 7.2v battery or a 9.6v battery to power sensors and co-processors so this worked out well.

The original idea was to use a relay, but I've had issues sourcing one that fits and plays nice so I was looking for alternatives when I found this. It's a power regulator from Pololu with a shutdown pin. Now we already needed a regulator for the Pi so my thought was that this shutdown pin on this regular might just save the day, so I started reading the product page and I found this: