Author Topic: Poor adjustability of voltage booster based on Vout=Vref(1+R1/R2)  (Read 2568 times)

Offline Back2VoltsTopic starter

• Supporter
This is my first time playing with one of those $2 Chinese voltage boosters.  This one in particular uses what I think is an SBD628, which has a Vref=600mV.   The actual circuit has the output divider consists of a 100K trim pot from Vout, with a 2K2 fix resistor to groung on the other end.   

I set it up on a breadboard, with a 235R load, trying to get 18V on the output.   I started turning the trim pot while measuring voltage.   After quite some turns, the voltage started to increase, with a reasonable sensitivity, but as voltage increased, the sensitivity grew exponentially, making it hard to set a value.    I soldered a few wires for voltage monitoring on the trim pot, and took a few measurement points.   

Eventually I looked for the IC datasheet and found the voltage setting formula.    With it I went to excel and created a spreadsheet with 1% adjustment steps of the trim pot.    It is incredible how badly it behaves as the pot goes up.   When the Vout at 6V, the Vout sensitivity is around 11% for a 1% trim increment.   At Vout=10, it is 20%; at Vout=12V, 25%; at Vout=14.7V, 31%.   A one% change takes it from 14.65V to 19.23V, making it very hard to adjust.

Are there any tricks to deal with this?    I may hack it replacing the 100K trim pot with two fix resistors and a 5K or 10K one.

Any ideas will be appreciated.       

« Last Edit: November 24, 2016, 07:19:27 pm by Back2Volts »

Online JPortici

• Super Contributor
Re: Poor adjustability of voltage booster based on Vout=Vref(1+R1/R2)
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2016, 10:08:27 pm »
well R1 could be a resistor + a trimmer so the actual influence of the trimmer is reduced

• Supporter
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2016, 11:53:37 pm »
well R1 could be a resistor + a trimmer so the actual influence of the trimmer is reduced