Author Topic: Potentiometer resistor has me confused  (Read 1620 times)

Offline imisswavesTopic starter

Potentiometer resistor has me confused
« on: December 03, 2017, 07:55:14 pm »
Here is the schematic.  Sorry if it's messy.  I'm new to this.

If that doesn't help, here is a picture of the potentiometer:

I've been playing with electronics a little bit and I know my way around like a beginner.  I'd really like to understand more and I had this old trolling motor fall into my lap, so what greater time than now to join eevblog and ask you all my questions that I've never asked (but have probably been asked umpteen times).

So the main switch failed in the circuit and I'll have to replace that, but the 10 OHM resistor is blown.  The thing is, I can bypass the main switch and give power to the motor.  When I do this everything works just fine (actuating the potentiometer regulates motor speed), even with that ceramic resistor blown out.  So my initial question is what is the point of the 10 OHM resistor?  I don't understand its usefulness but I have a feeling if I just use it without that resistor then I'll be hurting something.

And while we are here, concerning the element labeled "unsure of what this is".  What could this be?  It's mounted on the front of the motor, which would be submersed in water.  Im assuming it requires a lot of heat sinking, but it's potted in there and I'd probably ruin it trying to get to it.  Anyone have an idea of what it could be?

Offline Ian.M

• Super Contributor
Re: Potentiometer resistor has me confused
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2017, 08:32:16 pm »
The potted module is the speed controller.   Its got electronics in there, probably to rapidly chop the motor power to vary the speed, which is why it needs cooling.