Author Topic: Power Driver circuit frying  (Read 2324 times)

Offline PauvenTopic starter

Power Driver circuit frying
« on: June 02, 2017, 02:55:31 am »
I'm new around here, just found this community, and it feels like the right (only?) place to ask for help.  Sorry if this reads long, it's complicated.

I've developed 3 different power drivers for use in pinball machines.  My first two worked pretty well, so I'm not a complete newbie, but this new design is behaving badly, and I can't figure out what I did wrong.

The power driver concept:  Use the 5v signal from a PC's USB bus to control a pinball solenoid at up to 50V @ 5A.  My power driver is the size of a business card, and has 8 inputs/outputs.

The high level solution:  Implement high-side switching of solenoid power.  PNP Darlington controlling an N-Channel MOSFET controlling a P-Channel MOSFET.  The idea is that the first Darlington isolates the USB bus from the solenoid's high voltage. 

The components: 

PNP Darlington: ROHM DTA123JE http://www.rohm.com/web/global/datasheet/DTA123JE/dta123jetl-e 
This has built in biasing resistors, making it easy to use.  The datasheet indicates it can handle up to -50V, and I'm thinking in my design it never sees more than -5V.  It seems like the gate opens at -1.1V, so with -5V from the USB bus, this thing should be fully on, sending the full 5V to the N-Channel MOSFET.

N-Channel MOSFET:  Fairchild FDC3601N https://www.fairchildsemi.com/datasheets/FD/FDC3601N.pdf
This MOSFET is rated for 100V.  The datasheet indicates the Gate Threshold Voltage is typically 2.6V, with Min of 2V and Max of 4V.  I think this might be one of my mistakes, as 5V from the PNP Darlington may not be enough to reach saturation of this MOSFET, but I can't tell.  My goal is to always reach full saturation, basically using these transistors like light switches, minimizing resistance and heat and prolonging life.  I'm using a couple biasing resistors, 4.7k and 47k.