Author Topic: Power Supplies  (Read 3000 times)

Offline melrelTopic starter

• Contributor
Power Supplies
« on: October 08, 2012, 08:04:26 pm »
The time has come for me to purchase (or build) a power supply.  After listening to Dave's recommendations I am still a little confused over what he calls 'dual rail.'  Believe me opinion does vary!Does this mean the same as dual output?  I am considering the Thurlby Thander models similar to the PL320, but need your assistance. If I build one which I guess would be a good learning project where the heck do I start looking for a suitable schematic/kit amoungst the wilderness out there.

Offline ThievingSix

• Contributor
Re: Power Supplies
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2012, 10:18:32 am »
I've been trying to build a PSU for the past 6 months, its a slippery slope considering i have no background engineering experience. Often for certain regulators you can find PSU circuits on the datasheets themselves, other times you'll have to be a bit creative and work off the example circuits and datasheets and theory you've picked up elsewhere.

I've always understood dual output to mean that there are two separate outputs, i.e. one at 0-30V and the other at 0-30V separate from each other, so one can run at 12V while the other runs at 5V. I'm not entirely sure about dual rail but i believe it generally refers to two separate outputs running at the same voltage . i.e. the two rails spread the load across each other preventing one from being overloaded if your drawing a large amount of power. So in a computer PSU there might be two +12V rails, one powering the CPU, the other powering your graphics card. Alternatively i've heard the term used to describe two outputs, +5v and -5v(negative five volts).
« Last Edit: October 09, 2012, 10:25:51 am by ThievingSix »

Offline Psi

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2012, 11:08:57 am »
Dual rail almost always means a negative and positive output to ground.