Author Topic: Power Supply project  (Read 5510 times)

Offline cksaTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Power Supply project
« on: June 25, 2010, 08:43:50 am »
So I managed to get hold of a transformer for free. http://img153.imageshack.us/img153/5761/mg9048.jpg

It's has two secondary coils. 23.7V each and 2.43A

I want to build a lab power supply out of it as a project. Minimum goals I would set are:
*dual rails output, one negative one positive. up to +- 15V, so I can do basic opamp work. I guess I would want a minimum of one AMP. Adjustable through potentiometers. Also adjustable current limit.

Ultimate goals:
*Have it controlled by a microcontroller - how can I do this? =\
*Have a lot more current capacity.

Is it an idiotic idea to whack a switching buck regulator after I've rectified the voltage from the secondary's instead of a linear regulator?, so I can hopefully get more amps at low voltages?

EDIT: As an EE student, i'm not really cared about the practicalities of making one myself. I really want to make this a learning experience. I will probably design up a PCB for this at the end to get more experience at laying out components.

« Last Edit: June 25, 2010, 08:46:13 am by cksa »

alm

Re: Power Supply project
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2010, 09:21:01 am »
It's has two secondary coils. 23.7V each and 2.43A

I want to build a lab power supply out of it as a project. Minimum goals I would set are:
*dual rails output, one negative one positive. up to +- 15V, so I can do basic opamp work. I guess I would want a minimum of one AMP. Adjustable through potentiometers. Also adjustable current limit.
Something like 2x25V 1.4A would match the transformer, at least for linear regulation. One useful option for op-amps is tracking, so you can adjust both supplies symmetrically (or with a fixed ratio).

*Have it controlled by a microcontroller - how can I do this? =\