Author Topic: Pro EE Industry Jargon: What "unspoken/understood" terms did you struggle with?  (Read 9147 times)

Offline jakeisprobablyTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
    • Upcycle Electronics
 What "unspoken/understood" terms did you struggle with?

For a self taught beginner like myself, it took me a while to learn the Pro EE's distaste for adding a decimal on a schematic. I had no idea that 3.3k means the same thing as 3k3.

I also had a lightbulb moment when I finally learned to add "2S" before any transistor part number that starts with a letter (ex."A965" = "2SA965") for a much better chance of finding the correct information.

What unspoken EE industry Jargon or terminology did you have trouble with?
« Last Edit: July 23, 2016, 06:08:59 pm by jakeisprobably »

Offline Seekonk

• Super Contributor
I was just having a conversation about this.  In classical electronics the anode of a diode is +, yet on bridge rectifiers the cathode is marked +.  That has to mess some people up.

Offline tszaboo

• Super Contributor
  • Current job: ATEX product design
DNP or Do Not Populate.
Also, HVAC does not mean High Voltage Alternating Current BTW.

Offline dmills

• Super Contributor
.1mf does not mean what the SI system would have you expect when seen on an old US schematic.

Regards, Dan.

Offline Dave

• Super Contributor
  • I like to measure things.
In classical electronics the anode of a diode is +, yet on bridge rectifiers the cathode is marked +.  That has to mess some people up.
But it isn't. An anode is an anode and a cathode is a cathode. Whether either of them should be connected to plus, minus or anything else depends entirely on the circuit.
<fellbuendel> it's arduino, you're not supposed to know anything about what you're doing
<fellbuendel> if you knew, you wouldn't be using it

Offline Brumby

• Supporter
TH