Author Topic: Probing usb powered circuit. Should I be scared?  (Read 4748 times)

Offline MoriambarTopic starter

• Supporter
Probing usb powered circuit. Should I be scared?
« on: October 18, 2018, 01:30:49 pm »
Hi there.

I've just been gifted my first oscilloscope, so I'm not an expert on anything in that respect.

I have to troubleshoot a circuit which is powered through an arduino nano connected via usb to my mac. I was trying to use the ground pin as a reference for the probe, but then I saw this: https://youtu.be/xaELqAo4kkQ

and now I'm scared... Should I remove the power from my laptop before probing and use just the batteries? Or is it safe to use the gnd of the arduino as a ref?

Thanks

Offline Kremmen

• Super Contributor
Re: Probing usb powered circuit. Should I be scared?
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2018, 01:35:55 pm »
OK to use the Arduino GND since the circuit is galvanically isolated from mains.
Nothing sings like a kilovolt.
Dr W. Bishop

• Supporter
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2018, 01:37:39 pm »
OK to use the Arduino GND since the circuit is galvanically isolated from mains.

Oh ok, thanks. I did not know that the usbs/arduino are galvanically isolated.

Cheers

Offline glarsson

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2018, 01:46:10 pm »
You don't know if the USB supply is isolated.

A small phone charger style USB power supply most likely is, but a USB connector on a stationary PC connected to a grounded power outlet probably isn't.

Don't assume, meassures first.

The following users thanked this post: Moriambar

• Supporter
« Reply #4 on: October 18, 2018, 01:53:05 pm »
You don't know if the USB supply is isolated.

A small phone charger style USB power supply most likely is, but a USB connector on a stationary PC connected to a grounded power outlet probably isn't.

Don't assume, meassures first.

Ok, I'll measure it!

Offline tooki

• Super Contributor
« Reply #5 on: October 18, 2018, 04:08:10 pm »