Author Topic: Problem with: USB Joystick Data acquisition using Scope (Rigol DS1052E)  (Read 6360 times)

Offline bravoelfTopic starter

• Contributor
Hello Everyone,

Ok, so this is my brief description of my problem.

Recently I wanted to make some measurements with my scope. )))
The potential victim was found pretty quickly: it was a Jetion PC Game joystick.
The initial purpose was to trace usb data that joystick sends to a PC when some of its buttons are pushed. Just wanted to see the pulses of a data signal on my scope.(Yep, I'm a curious EE student)
To turn the dream into reality, I used the following items: USB Female connector(plugged to the breadboard), 5[V] DC power supply , the joystick itself, couple of wires and finally, a Scope.
My connection scheme was pretty simple: A joystick was plugged in to female connector and so a 5[V] was connected to it .
When I done with all  the wiring, a LED on my joystick turned on, so it was in a working state.

Then I tried to measure the voltages on D+/D- pins while pressing a buttons. Guess what? It didn't work. At all...

Furthermore, I teared down this joystick in order to "get closer" to its controller, but was very disappointed when, the only thing I found there was one big black blob(the one, that are used often to cover chip on board).

So, my biggest questions are:

What did I do wrong?
or
Is it a joystick that actually dead?
or
Is it my dumb head?  ;)
or
Is there something else I should take into account in order to get the things work for me?
or
Is it possible at all to trace/acquire/measure usb data signals using a scope?

Of course, any provided help(explanations/links for additional info and etc) will be highly appreciated.

Thanks a lot in advance,

Ivan. 

Offline miguelvp

• Super Contributor
Re: Problem with: USB Joystick Data acquisition using Scope (Rigol DS1052E)
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2014, 01:53:07 pm »