Author Topic: PWM Buck DC/DC Converter  (Read 7235 times)

Offline JerryLeeTopic starter

PWM Buck DC/DC Converter
« on: May 17, 2015, 02:50:51 pm »
Was finding a suitable DC/DC converter to be used in my project recently to supply a 12V input  from an external 24V.

As attached is an example converter's datasheet that I came across but not quite understand.

Correct me if I'm wrong, I know the feedback voltage is to compare the output voltage with a reference voltage but I just couldn't understand how they calculate the feedback voltage. Like how they came up with the rating 1.23V as in the attachment.

I'm new to DC-DC converter and hopes someone could enlighten me, thanks.

Offline mariush

• Super Contributor
Re: PWM Buck DC/DC Converter
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2015, 03:04:25 pm »
Read the datasheet, page 3 (the internal blocks of the chip) :
http://www.diodes.com/datasheets/AP1509.pdf

There's an internal voltage reference built inside the chip.

Keep in mind that this particular IC ( AP1509) seems to only handle up to 22v according to datasheet, so it wouldn't be a good choice if you have 24v input (give or take a couple of volts for safety margins).

« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2015, 05:37:18 pm »
Ahh I see, din notice that thanks man!

Do you have any efficient method of determining the input and output capacitance for the converter?

Been searching for an easy way on the net but what I've found so far is a couple of generic equations from TI.

Offline mariush

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2015, 05:47:05 pm »
Look at various datasheets for various regulator ICs ... some manufacturers have better datasheets, with plenty of information and formulas to figure out what technical specs the capacitors need to fulfill.