Author Topic: Question about preamp for measuring noise.  (Read 11787 times)

Offline matiasroTopic starter

Question about preamp for measuring noise.
« on: March 16, 2012, 02:51:40 am »
How are you?
I am writing from Argentina.
My oscilloscope is a Rigol 1052 and HP3478A multimeter.
I am a DIYer and audio enthusiast, although I have done many successful projects in the field instrumentation i am a newbie.
I make this query as I begin to measure noise levels at regulators and power supplies.
The noise level of my Rigol is very high for this and I know I should build a preamplifier to amplify the signal to achieve and exceed the measured noise level of the instrumental.
I believe that for this task I need to use an amplifier with a factor equal to or greater than 1000x and low noise.
I was looking for information on this and there is so much material with words associated with other issues hampering my search.
On the other hand I saw few people carried out projects for this purpose.
Someone could tell me if you use any preamplifier with your multimeter or oscilloscope?
It would also be important if you know of a working circuit to achieve my goal.
I send a hug from Argentina and from already thank you very much.
Matias

Offline tekfan

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Question about preamp for measuring noise.
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2012, 01:10:31 pm »
Measuring noise with a digital oscilloscope is very hard. Not only is there analog noise in the front end but there is also digital noise that is made by the AD converters.

Even if you do build a sensitive preamp to amplify the noise it will still be hard to measure on the Rigol.

This is what analog scopes do best. If you will do these measurments often you may want to find a used analog scope.
If measuring noise below several mV then you will have to be very careful about ground loops and exposed conductors.
If you use unshielded wire you will get meaningless readings.