Author Topic: Question about the MAX333CCP  (Read 3676 times)

Offline bluepunkTopic starter

• Contributor
Question about the MAX333CCP
« on: March 03, 2015, 10:51:07 am »
Hey everyone!

I've been playing a little bit with switching audio (guitar) signals with a MAX333. Using a 5V to 0V supply with a voltage devider for the ground reference.

My audio is being sent trough the MAX333 from the COM1 pin to the NO1 pin. (NC1 is shorted to ground).
All of this seems to work as expected the only issue I'm currently seeing is that when I apply a high signal to IN1 I hear it switch.

Everything is powered with the 5V from an Arduino and the IN1 is connected to digital 13 on the Arduino. (using the simple led blinker sketch with delays set to 1000ms to test it)

Is there any way to get rid of this switching noise?

Ps. I'm fairly new to this kind of electronics so if I talk crap somewhere let me know  :)

Offline Stefan

• Contributor
Re: Question about the MAX333CCP
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2015, 11:10:34 am »
Have you tried connecting NC1 to the 2.5V of the voltage divider?

NO1 will be at those 2.5V, I assume. So you are switching the output between 2.5V and 0V. This step has a wide frequency band and will be hearable.

edit: I've just realized that you feed the signal into COM1 and out of N01, sorry, I was thinking you get it in NO1 and out of COM1. Where does the signal go after NO1? Do you maybe let an input float there?
-Stefan
« Last Edit: March 03, 2015, 11:14:36 am by Stefan »

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2015, 11:47:52 am »
I've made a simple schematic of what I've done.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/865542/capture.png

U6 and U7 are connected to a guitar and amplifier respectivly.
It works as I'd think it would. Its just that the moment you apply a signal to IN1 you hear a click of sorts.

Edit: sorry about the weird layout of the wires. Stupid 123d.circuits.io schematic auto routing/layout which you can't edit.  :palm: