Author Topic: Question by interface USB-3  (Read 2008 times)

Offline alex 54Topic starter

Question by interface USB-3
« on: September 16, 2018, 08:38:36 am »
Hello,i want to ask a question by interface USB-3
I'm a beginner programmer, I'm sorry if the question sounds silly, because the information on the Internet is not enough for this issue.
I recently made a USB 2 gaming device (the picture is attached), and it turned out very successful mainly because of the high 0.8 ms, the polling frequency of this device.
Then I decided to explore the possibilities of the USB 3 interface.
Purpose: to achieve the fastest transfer of information (which is only 8 bytes in size) to the program (game).
Technically, i can do it like,but will the USB 3 device have some advantage over USB 2 in the speed of information transfer from the microcontroller to the program (game), taking into account the latency of Windows?

Sincerely, Alex 54.

« Last Edit: September 16, 2018, 08:43:52 am by alex 54 »

Offline timgiles

• Regular Contributor
  • Programmer, DB architect
Re: Question by interface USB-3
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2018, 09:07:31 am »
The latency caused by windows itself wont change, at least once the hardware USB chips have received the data, passed through to the motherboard USB device driver and then in to the windows OS/application stack. The length of time to transmit/receive the data will of course be shorter but for a gaming device (is this emulating a HID device like a keyboard, joystick, mouse?) I dont see that you will be transmitting much data or very many packets per second - so I am not sure the reduction in total latency will prove to be significant. Seems like a sledgehammer to crack a nut. Also USB 3 implemented on your device requires differential pairs routing with much more stringent trace length matching requirements...

The following users thanked this post: alex 54

Offline andersm

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2018, 12:46:41 pm »