Author Topic: Question on simple monitor fix  (Read 5629 times)

Offline Mike89Topic starter

Question on simple monitor fix
« on: March 26, 2014, 03:16:14 pm »
Saw the vids on the simple monitor fix replacing bulging capacitors. Here is my problem. Monitor (Acer G235H) comes on for a second and then goes black. If I turn monitor off and on again I see the image again for a second and then black again. Same thing will happen as many times as I turn the monitor off and on. Monitor blue light stays on (as opposed to amber light when monitor goes to stand by) the whole time after powering up even when monitor goes black. Sounds like my monitor qualifies for the capacitor issue.

Problem is I took the monitor apart and all the capacitors look fine, no bulging at all. Does this sound like bad capacitors are still causing my problem or is my problem something else? I'm a rookie so have no means of checking each capacitor (other than visually). Any help appreciated.

Offline granz

• Regular Contributor
Re: Question on simple monitor fix
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2014, 03:28:39 pm »
You'll want an ESR meter to really check the capacitors.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Equivalent_series_resistance

Edit: You can be almost certain they have gone bad if they are bulging/leaking, but it doesn't work the other way around--you can't be sure they are good if they look OK.

You can find inexpensive ESR meters on eBay.  They may not be very high quality, but would serve your purposes.

« Last Edit: March 26, 2014, 03:37:42 pm by granz »

Offline mariush

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2014, 03:54:25 pm »
Before investing in a esr meter, you'll want to investigate the CCFL tubes.

This behavior you see is often caused by a poor contact between the wire and a ccfl tube, or a ccfl tube that's too old and drawing too much current.