Author Topic: Power Supply  (Read 3008 times)

Offline thomst77Topic starter

• Contributor
Power Supply
« on: June 30, 2013, 03:38:31 am »
So one of the first projects a beginner tackles is a power Supply. I have been looking around for a kit or recommendations. I have a few ATX Power supplies. And that seems easy enough to do, But I would like a variable voltage option. Maybe 1.25 to around minimum 12 volt DC and maybe 2A minimum. Are there any kits that you all would recommend? Or maybe a simple circuit for an ATX Power supply? I was thinking maybe a voltage regulator circuit on one of the 12v leads? Maybe an lm317t with a beefy heatsink and maybe even a small fan blowing across it? I would appreciate any input. Also I am well aware of the safety issues. I am an Amateur Radio Operator and have put together a few kits in my time.
Thank You in advance for your input
Tom

Offline Rerouter

• Super Contributor
  • Question Everything... Except This Statement
Re: Power Supply
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2013, 04:02:20 am »
if your planning 2 amp minimum, you may want to dip your toes into a multi-tap approach or switcher module following the atx on its own, as 2x 10.75V minimum is a big amount of heat being pissed away,

as your likely to only be using the regulator stage as an output, you cant make use of the 7V difference between 12V and 5V, as the 5V rail on just about every atx supply can only source and not sink current on the 5V rail, (just incase you try it from fan mods on forums)

Offline Alana

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2013, 09:16:17 am »
When i was starting my electronics adventure i wanted a big PSU, variable voltage with several amps of power. I made one and only high current application of this psu was powering a HV generator and playing with arc-welding using carbon electrodes.