Author Topic: Question on switching power supply running DC motor  (Read 14738 times)

Offline good_noobTopic starter

Question on switching power supply running DC motor
« on: October 11, 2012, 05:52:18 am »
Newby here guys...greetings to all!

Here's my quandry...I'm building a small project that has me puzzled and it's been 30+ years since I took electronics class in high school.

I'm trying to run a 12v 1.5Ah DC motor with a AC-to-DC 12v 25w 2.1A switching power supply (CUI VSK-S25-12U-T).  When I connect the dc motor to the psu, the motor runs for 1/2 sec then off, then on then off, then on...you get the picture.  Now, even being a noob, I understand that the switching psu is made to maintain the volts at a constant 12v and the circuit is being turned on/off to regulate the voltage produced.  But, my question is - how do I keep the motor constantly running on this switching psu?

1) Is the motor drawing too much amperage at start up and causing the overload circuit to reset?  I put an ammeter on the psu (without the motor) and the DC amps fluctates just like I'm seeing with the motor.

2) Is this just the way the switching psu works and I've bought the wrong type - do I need a something like a laptop battery charger to function as my psu?

3) Is there a way to add a capacitor or something to the circuit to maintain a constant amperage, or function like a starter capacitor?

I'm stumped and just need to get this issue resolved so I can move forward and not waste another 4-5 hours on Google and YouTube searching for an answer...

Thanks for any help... good_noob

Offline Kremmen

• Super Contributor
Re: Question on switching power supply running DC motor
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2012, 06:14:31 am »
What is the load of the motor? Does it run at all, without any load?
Sounds very much like some kind of overload protection. Any SMPS (switchmode power supply, that is) switches with far far higher frequency so you are not seeing that.