Author Topic: Rectenna : Basic questions  (Read 3906 times)

Offline msbauerTopic starter

Rectenna : Basic questions
« on: August 25, 2013, 01:35:23 am »
Hi.  I'm a mechanical engineer who is just getting into electronics hobby stuff for both home and work projects.
so if you could reply as if I'm a small child, I'd appreciate it... :)

NOTE: Question is at very bottom of this post after I give background context.

I've been seeing videos on youtube of people using crystal radios to power LEDs.  This made me excited as I thought it meant that I should be able to charge a battery using the same approach.  Or maybe power LEDs in devices in the size range of .5 square ft without batteries.

What became immediately apparent with a little googling:
There are a lot of crazies out there spinning tales about this stuff.
AM radio is perhaps the less desirable spectrum segment for this application in my view since it requires such long antenna/inductor.
Using a set of simple calculations given in an EEVblog youtube video, it seems that one would have to build a device (antenna and circuit) that would be compatible with as many spectrum segments as possible (AM, FM, UHF, VHF, etc.) and tune them all simultaneously to get an amount of power that would be useful. (I've found some papers which are attached that speak to using fractal antenna and special circuit designs)

For example,
Broadcast Antenna Power (Watts)                           50000
Receptor Antenna Distance from antenna (Miles)   2
Receptor Antenna size (m2)                                   0.01
Application Power Requirement (Watt Hours)           2
Power Density @ Receive location (Watts per m2)   0.000384258
Watts received by Receptor Antenna (Watts)           3.84258E-06
Charge Hours (@100% Efficiency)                           520,484.0

It seems to me that this kind of power reception could NEVER power an LED.  Am I completely mis-understanding a fundamental EE concept?