Author Topic: [solved] recycling devices : capacitors discharge  (Read 3772 times)

Offline paul18frTopic starter

• Contributor
  • Hobbyist & beginner
[solved] recycling devices : capacitors discharge
« on: September 27, 2014, 05:31:06 pm »
Dear All

I've the opportunity to canibalize an electronic device destinated to recycling (see picture); Of course I'm interested by the housing, heatsinks and even the mosfets, the transformers (230V to ?, and so on.

I'll probably have to take care when I'll desolder some components to not damage them , but I've a question about the capacitors (please keep in mind I'm a newbie): I probably have to discharge them before handling them, don't I ?

What's the procedure ?

Thanks

Paul
« Last Edit: September 28, 2014, 08:44:02 am by paul18fr »

Offline Simon

• Global Moderator
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
Re: recycling devices : capacitors discharge
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2014, 05:40:36 pm »
The only capacitor you are likely to need to discharge is the one in the top right corner which is the power input capacitor and could have up to 300 volts on it. A quick check with a multimeter would be a good idea. Everything else should be low voltage. If you do try to discharge a capacitor try to do it through a low value resistor so as to not stress it.

Left-hand board is a power supply you might actually want to keep it in one piece as it will have many different output voltages which will likely include 3.3 V, 5 V, and 12 V.

The power supply is a switch mode type therefore the transformer is not a 240V to say 12 V transformer as you would normally use. This transformer is designed to work at a high frequency than the mains 50 Hz with the specific components on the board and won't be of any use to you for anything else unless you are very good at designing switch mode power supplies which given your experience I doubt.

Offline wiss

• Frequent Contributor