Author Topic: Resources for O-Scope Current Measuring  (Read 558 times)

Offline ender4171Topic starter

• Contributor
Resources for O-Scope Current Measuring
« on: July 20, 2018, 04:43:40 pm »
Hello,

I am a beginner to oscilloscopes and just purchased a DS1054z (on the recommendations of this forum and Dave).  I have been reading and practicing a lot and have most of the basics down.  I am trying to find information on measuring current without the use of an expensive current probe.

Specifically, I am looking for info on using basic sense/shunt resistors like Dave did in the "How Secure Are Electric Safe Locks" video, or using a ferrite core current transformer (and resistor) like AvE did in the "Testing LED Bulbs For Bad Vibrations. Yep" video.

All of the articles/tutorials/references I have found so far seem to always point to using a purpose-made OTC (i.e. way more expensive than my blood can afford) current probe or assume a level of knowledge I don't yet have.  I have found some stuff discussing shunt resistors but then they have some overly elaborate setup instead of a simple single resistor like Dave used, and I would like to start simple and work up.

I am not looking for any hand holding or for someone to ELI5, I was just hoping someone could point me to some good resources so I can learn for myself.  I know it is possible to use a normal probe and a resistor/transformer to measure current/determine the current waveform.

Any help is much appreciated!!

-Keith

Offline JS

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Resources for O-Scope Current Measuring
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2018, 03:52:14 am »
There's a project running here to build a current probe, there are basically two types for isolated current probes, transformer and hall effect.