Author Topic: What's the name for a device that is reducing THD in AC ?  (Read 1736 times)

Offline poofTopic starter

What's the name for a device that is reducing THD in AC ?
« on: October 26, 2017, 07:19:20 pm »
Hi,
I'm a newbie and I would like to know if there is a name, a commercial name for a product that I can find in the shop, for a device that will reduce total harmonic distortion when I have a "dirty" or just a bad modified sine wave .

For example I would like to know how to filter and produce a good sine wave, even under load, even when running from a cheap AC generator that barely outputs a modified sine wave .

The transition is AC to AC, so I know that I don't need a converter, I think that I need a subset of that which means that I probably just need a filter, but I don't know any "technical name" for a thing that will do what I'm looking for .

Offline Shock

• Super Contributor
Re: What's the name for a device that is reducing THD in AC ?
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2017, 07:31:27 pm »
Power conditioner?

You might want to let us know what you have (details on brand and model etc) and what the problem is, it often leads to better advice.
Soldering/Rework: Pace ADS200, Pace MBT350
Multimeters: Fluke 189, 87V, 117, 112   >>> WANTED STUFF <<<
Oszilloskopen: Lecroy 9314, Phillips PM3065, Tektronix 2215a, 314

Offline free_electron

• Super Contributor
    • SiliconValleyGarage
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2017, 07:36:29 pm »
filter ?
Professional Electron Wrangler.
Any comments, or points of view expressed, are my own and not endorsed , induced or compensated by my employer(s).

Online IanB

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2017, 07:46:41 pm »
Are you talking about mains power? Do you want a clean AC voltage?

When you say generator, do you mean a motor-driven generator set? Or do you mean an electronic inverter?