Author Topic: Rigol DS1054Z 50 ohm setting.  (Read 691 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kuifje

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: be
Rigol DS1054Z 50 ohm setting.
« on: February 15, 2019, 06:39:42 am »
Hello,

I just got the Rigol DS1054z and I can't find the 50 ohm input setting.
Normally on digital oscilloscopes you can select load resistance. Why not on this one?
Already looked in the datasheet but can't find anything.

Thanks!
 

Offline 0xdeadbeef

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1207
  • Country: de
Re: Rigol DS1054Z 50 ohm setting.
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2019, 06:46:33 am »
There is none ... just like on many entry level scopes. If you need a 50Ohm input, use a 50 ohm feedthrough terminator.
Trying is the first step towards failure - Homer J. Simpson
 
The following users thanked this post: kuifje

Offline kuifje

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: be
Re: Rigol DS1054Z 50 ohm setting.
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2019, 06:49:12 am »
Uh... that sucks, because they didn't deliver the 50 ohm feedback terminator.

Especially since my function generator can't compensate for low loads (<10k ohm).

Thanks for the answer!
 

Offline ataradov

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5386
  • Country: us
    • Personal site
Re: Rigol DS1054Z 50 ohm setting.
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2019, 06:52:56 am »
Uh... that sucks, because they didn't deliver the 50 ohm feedback terminator.
It is "feed through", and it is not included with the scope. There are plenty of options on eBay. For example https://www.ebay.com/itm/50-Ohm-Feed-Through-Terminator-BNC-to-BNC-50KY-Device-Q9-Adapter-Black/173224204575
Alex
 
The following users thanked this post: kuifje

Offline kuifje

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: be
Re: Rigol DS1054Z 50 ohm setting.
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2019, 07:02:35 am »
I'm new to this website, I have a question too about a function generator, should I make a different thread or can I just comment here?
 

Offline ataradov

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5386
  • Country: us
    • Personal site
Re: Rigol DS1054Z 50 ohm setting.
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2019, 07:03:06 am »
I'm new to this website, I have a question too about a function generator, should I make a different thread or can I just comment here?
Make a new one.
Alex
 

Offline David Hess

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8807
  • Country: us
  • DavidH
Re: Rigol DS1054Z 50 ohm setting.
« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2019, 03:19:42 pm »
Oscilloscopes with bandwidths of 100 MHz and below do not usually include switchable 50 ohm terminations.  If you must, then a BNC-T and BNC 50 ohm terminator can be used at lower frequencies.
 

Offline metrologist

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1749
  • Country: 00
Re: Rigol DS1054Z 50 ohm setting.
« Reply #7 on: February 15, 2019, 04:39:22 pm »
Uh... that sucks, because they didn't deliver the 50 ohm feedback terminator.
It is "feed through", and it is not included with the scope. There are plenty of options on eBay. For example https://www.ebay.com/itm/50-Ohm-Feed-Through-Terminator-BNC-to-BNC-50KY-Device-Q9-Adapter-Black/173224204575

Lemme ask a stoopid question. Does measuring that termination with a DMM demonstrate anything valuable?
 

Offline ataradov

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5386
  • Country: us
    • Personal site
Re: Rigol DS1054Z 50 ohm setting.
« Reply #8 on: February 15, 2019, 04:41:10 pm »
Lemme ask a stoopid question. Does measuring that termination with a DMM demonstrate anything valuable?
Yes, it shows that there is actually a resistor inside. This is not a guarantee with Chinese products :).
Alex
 

Online ebastler

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2551
  • Country: de
Re: Rigol DS1054Z 50 ohm setting.
« Reply #9 on: February 15, 2019, 04:43:31 pm »
Lemme ask a stoopid question. Does measuring that termination with a DMM demonstrate anything valuable?

It gives you the DC resistance; but it will not tell you much about the terminator's behavior at high frequencies (where capacitance and inductance come into play). In other words, a DC resistance reasonably close to 50 Ohms is a necessary, but not a sufficient condition for good termination.
 

Offline metrologist

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1749
  • Country: 00
Re: Rigol DS1054Z 50 ohm setting.
« Reply #10 on: February 15, 2019, 04:51:39 pm »
I guess that is likely to be good enough for the application. I've made a few terminations using SMD resistors and a BNC connector.
 

Online ebastler

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2551
  • Country: de
Re: Rigol DS1054Z 50 ohm setting.
« Reply #11 on: February 15, 2019, 04:55:26 pm »
I guess that is likely to be good enough for the application. I've made a few terminations using SMD resistors and a BNC connector.

Since you don't tell us what "the application" is, it's tough to comment on that statement.  :P
 

Offline Mechatrommer

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8622
  • Country: my
  • reassessing directives...
Re: Rigol DS1054Z 50 ohm setting.
« Reply #12 on: February 15, 2019, 08:35:04 pm »
Diy is good enough for 100MHz, probably up to 500MHz..
if something can select, how cant it be intelligent? if something is intelligent, how cant it exist?
 

Offline Gary350z

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 173
  • Country: us
Re: Rigol DS1054Z 50 ohm setting.
« Reply #13 on: February 16, 2019, 01:14:26 am »
I have a related question.
Say you have your scope connected to a 30VDC power rail with a coax or X1 probe, and you accidentally hit the 50 ohm impedance button. Now you have 0.6A (0.6A=30/50) going into the scope, and the scope is dissipating 18W (18W=30*30/50). I think this would damage the scope. Am i right, or am I missing something? It bothers me a lot that you could blow up your scope by accidentally pushing a single button.
 

Offline Nitrousoxide

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 125
  • Country: au
Re: Rigol DS1054Z 50 ohm setting.
« Reply #14 on: February 16, 2019, 02:10:55 am »
I have a related question.
Say you have your scope connected to a 30VDC power rail with a coax or X1 probe, and you accidentally hit the 50 ohm impedance button. Now you have 0.6A (0.6A=30/50) going into the scope, and the scope is dissipating 18W (18W=30*30/50). I think this would damage the scope. Am i right, or am I missing something? It bothers me a lot that you could blow up your scope by accidentally pushing a single button.

Yep. Thats why most scopes that have, or are only 50 Ohm have a warning that says "Do not exceed 5Vrms". Because if you're DC coupled, you're going to have a very, very bad time. All that energy will be dissipated in the matching method they use (probably just a 50r resistor).
 
The following users thanked this post: Gary350z

Offline David Hess

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8807
  • Country: us
  • DavidH
Re: Rigol DS1054Z 50 ohm setting.
« Reply #15 on: February 16, 2019, 02:32:20 am »
I have a related question.
Say you have your scope connected to a 30VDC power rail with a coax or X1 probe, and you accidentally hit the 50 ohm impedance button. Now you have 0.6A (0.6A=30/50) going into the scope, and the scope is dissipating 18W (18W=30*30/50). I think this would damage the scope. Am i right, or am I missing something? It bothers me a lot that you could blow up your scope by accidentally pushing a single button.

X1 probes can have considerable series resistance which is higher than 50 ohms but in general what you say is correct.  Well designed oscilloscopes monitor the input voltage level and disengage their internal 50 ohm termination if a dangerous overload is detected to protect their internal termination.

 
The following users thanked this post: Gary350z

Offline metrologist

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1749
  • Country: 00
Re: Rigol DS1054Z 50 ohm setting.
« Reply #16 on: February 16, 2019, 03:25:09 am »
I guess that is likely to be good enough for the application. I've made a few terminations using SMD resistors and a BNC connector.

Since you don't tell us what "the application" is, it's tough to comment on that statement.  :P

The topic context is about the OP and a DS1054Z. I'm  thinking that most use cases for this scope is likely not to be effected much by a poorly RF matched through termination. I don't typically make very sensitive measurements with my scope, though. I guess using a wire-wound resistor might cause problems? Could make one worse than serialing 25, 2W wire-wound resistors? That would look like a foot-long coil.

The terminations I made used 4 radially mounted SMD resistors and that application was for single port OSL reflectometer calibrations up to around 4 GHz. If I remember correctly, they performed very well when compared to a commercial calibration T from the German company. This is just for field level applications.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf