Author Topic: Roberts Radio high ampage Mistake  (Read 8336 times)

Offline kungfu-pegasusTopic starter

Roberts Radio high ampage Mistake
« on: May 22, 2015, 06:52:10 am »
Hi there i have a roberts radio model RFM3 and i changed the polarity of the dc jack to + in middle ad - out side as normal then i plugged in a 1500 Ma 9v charger and it blew the radio somehow as it doesnt power on now
i checkec the orginal charger and it was 500Ma  9v i have taken pictures of board can someone please give me an indicationof what could have blown please the radio does not power through jack or battery terminals anymore

cheers

also attached schematics which i found in net

Pictureshttps://flic.kr/s/aHskbVzKjC

p.s i am a total newb but i am wiling to do the work

Offline Delta

• Super Contributor
Re: Roberts Radio high ampage Mistake
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2015, 12:09:02 pm »
You can't "put to much current in", a device will _draw_ whatever current it needs.

Looking at the schematic, that's a 3 wire switching jack, so my guess is you've created at short when trying to change the polarity...

« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2015, 12:43:45 pm »
superb so where do i start guys ?

Offline Rerouter

• Super Contributor
  • Question Everything... Except This Statement
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2015, 12:52:34 pm »
well your in for a fun time, seeing as the circuit had no diode... (seriously WTF?) first thing i would do is grab a multimeter and make sure that the power inputs when switched on are not shorted together, (e.g. blown cap or chip).

diagnosis steps,
test that 9V is at the plug before switcihg on, (battery removed, and correct polarity)
switch on
see that your voltage is still there, and that it is not heavily pulled down
if ok, next up, lift out the potentiometer that connects the lower op amp to the top one, and inject a signal to the top one, see if this gives any response on the output (this will verify is that chip works)