Author Topic: Roland D550 Synthesizer PSU re-capping question  (Read 2247 times)

Offline DiegoMaxTopic starter

Roland D550 Synthesizer PSU re-capping question
« on: February 26, 2017, 09:19:39 am »
Hello everyone, long time follower of the youtube channel, but first time posting on this forum.

Im by no means an electronics engineer or anything like that, i would consider myself a hobbist, and that would be a very generous way to call it. In any case, I own a Roland D-550 rack mount synthesizer from 1987, which works fantastic, however, the LCD backlight died about 5 years ago (its the old EL type fluorescent 2x40 HD44780 compatible type). So i finally decided to replace the LCD display with a new led backlit one, and that went smoothly.
The question is, since this unit is almost 30 years old, i thought it would be a good idea to replace all the capacitors on the PSU and i wanted to ask the experienced people here how would i go with it:
should i replace every single cap with new ones ?
are there some very specific ones that i would definitely replace ?
should i just ignore the fact that they are 30 years old and keep using the unit without worrying ?

I attach here a schematic of the PSU of this unit, and maybe you guys can give me some advise regarding this. Thanks in advance!!!

// Diego

Offline The Soulman

• Frequent Contributor
  • The sky is the limit!
Re: Roland D550 Synthesizer PSU re-capping question
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2017, 09:47:30 am »
It depends..
The caps could last for another couple of decades or one could blow up next week, no way of telling.
If one of the below fits your situation by all means replace them all:

1) The device is going to be used/powered on quite a lot.
2) The device needs to be as close to be 100% reliable (i.e. used in a live show).
3) The device is planned to be passed on to a next generation.
4) A beginner want's to enhance basic soldering skills.
5) Just for peace of mind.