Author Topic: RS-485 and CAN standards?  (Read 3375 times)

Offline Chad1Topic starter

• Contributor
RS-485 and CAN standards?
« on: August 27, 2012, 04:19:34 pm »
Please, PLEASE!!! can someone with knowledge of these standards explain what exactly they are? The wiki pages create more questions than answers. I'm a test engineer that's responsible for testing chips that have those standards (e.g. 3.3V Supply RS-485), and I can't get a good explanation from anyone about what exactly they are. Thanks!

Offline AndyC_772

• Super Contributor
  • Professional design engineer
    • Cawte Engineering | Reliable Electronics
Re: RS-485 and CAN standards?
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2012, 04:51:29 pm »
I know a bit about them - they're differential, serial communications standards used primarily in industrial and automotive applications - but you knew that much already.

What is it you need to know? Have you looked at the data sheets for the particular chips you're testing? What tests are you carrying out?

Happy to help out, but don't want to waffle on for hours without actually answering your question  ;)

Offline Chad1Topic starter

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2012, 05:43:56 pm »
Well the tests are independent of standard, for example continuity, leakage, etc. I just wanted to know what the "standards" ARE exactly. They're completely meaningless to me...what defines a chip as an RS-485 device? Is it simply a set of specs that are consistently met that makes something RS-485? I'm not even really sure what to ask because I'm so lost on the subject. Any info I can get from you is appreciated, no worries about rambling :D

Offline AndyC_772

• Super Contributor
  • Professional design engineer
    • Cawte Engineering | Reliable Electronics
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2012, 06:01:15 pm »