Author Topic: Negative Voltage spikes on scope. Automotive application  (Read 2111 times)

Offline Joe DillmanTopic starter

Negative Voltage spikes on scope. Automotive application
« on: August 22, 2018, 12:49:22 am »
Hello everyone,  My very first post ever, I'm an automotive technician with a basic understanding of electricity but am eager to learn.

If I take the negative lead of my Pico 4425 scope and attach it at the battery negative post and the other lead to the negative side of an ignition coil why will it get voltage spikes below the ground level voltage? How is it possible for any voltage to ever be measured at negative levels when scope or meter is attached this way?  How could anything have a greater negative potential than the battery?

See attachments.

Thanks!
« Last Edit: August 22, 2018, 12:53:38 am by Joe Dillman »

Offline tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Negative Voltage spikes on scope. Automotive application
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2018, 01:07:26 am »
Welcome to the forum.

With high energy/voltage discharges it's normal to see some waveform ringing.
This can be the measurement method or back EMF from the coil itself.
As the spark is discharged into a gap, it's a nonlinear load unlike a resistor or such.

Coils (inductors) are useful circuit building blocks and can be the core to generate negative or positive supplies. All you need add is an appropriately biased diode.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos

« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2018, 11:35:32 am »
Thank you for the info!  Attached is a current waveform of an ignition coil that has an open spark plug wire.  I've noticed that coils with open secondary will show a negative amperage spike when turned off.  Properly operating ignition systems dont produce the negative amperage spike.  Do you have an explanation for that?